The

My Thoughts – HBO GO 3 min Preview – SPOILERS (via @VampireBillC)

In True Blood on 29 May, 2011 at 9:38 pm

Before I go any further I want to say that I hate, hate hate the design of the faery land. It’s the fae via s Mt. Olympus by way of Hercules: The Legendary Journey. Seriously, Aphrodite in her pink lace- bedazzled bikini and Ares in his black studded leather would fit right in here. I get that it’s supposed to be ethereal but instead it comes off as low-budget and cheesy looking. Knowing Ball, the design was by choice which makes it worse. He may well agree with Sookie and think that the fae thing is so lame, but the audience needs to buy into the fae because at some point (whether in S4 or next year in S5) the fae will be a bigger plot point. By making their home ridiculous it makes it harder to buy into it.

As for the promo itself, I like the fact that Sookie isn’t just “oooh, pretty!” and instead has learned something from all her time spent with the vamps and is, instead, rather suspicious of everything that’s going on. I like the fact that she isn’t hopping on the “We aren’t freaks here yay!” bandwagon that Barry is on and that she doesn’t immediately eat the fruit – and really stays away from it when she notices that everyone up there seems to be obsessively eating that “pure happiness.” Sookie even gets a nice dig in at Claudine with her “If it’s your job to protect me, can I say you suck?”

The bit with her Grandfather is intriguing, and all of it put together suggests that there may or may not be something slightly more sinister in Faery land, even if we don’t know what it is. The design issues I mentioned above cheapen the bit of suspense that is just built in and just frustrate me again about the way it was done because there is something good here. We’ll see how it plays out.

Overall, it’s a solid three minutes of show time, I’m not 100% sure that I’d choose to lead off the episode with it given everything else that was left hanging at the end of Season 3, but it’s too soon to call whether something else might have been a better start.

via My Thoughts – HBO GO 3 min Preview – SPOILERS.

  1. so i totally agree about the set! it’s ridiculous which I have faith means AB has some plan up his sleeve to have it all make sense! It’s pretty creepy that it’s in a place “parallel” to the cemetery and i’m sure that will be important. i havent watched the 3m sneek peak so i better go do that before i go on & on….about something i have no idea what im talkin about! lol

    • I don’t know that I would read anything into the cemetery’s presence beyond the fact that there just happens to be one between Bill and Sookie’s home – it could have just as easily been something like a skating rink. lol.

    • OK…jst went to HBOgo and watched it. I think the witches are up to something! It’s so hard to keep the storyline from the books separate from the series!

Leave a Reply

