The

RP outside the Twitter box

In How To/Advice, LiveJournal, RP on 24 May, 2011 at 5:37 pm

One hundred and forty characters (of which I just used 32) isn’t always enough.

Yes, I know, it’s shocking that there are times when what I want or need to say can’t be winnowed down to just 140 characters. I’m sure @EricNorthman_ and @JstackhouseTB often wish I could. Well, perhaps not @Eric_NorthmanTBEric, he uses Tweetdeck’s long post feature frequently. And @Scarlett_Area5 would be pleased as punch if I moved over into the longer forms of role play and writing competitions she favors. Still I am a “one-liner” at heart, though that doesn’t mean I have not and do not  express myself elsewhere.

Here are a few of my favorite outlets as well as some insight into what I like about them.

WordPress

Probably my favorite all around blogging platform. In addition to my sporadic contributions to The Preternatural Post, my alter-ego co-writes Reflections of the Night with @VampireSheriff and if I were in the market for some more personal space, WordPress would be the platform I would choose. It’s a very robust system that unifies most of my other interests, from graphics to video, with ease and flexibility. It’s the flexibility that really wins me over, hands down. If you are serious about blogging, WordPress is where I would start, grow and finish. And did I mention: it’s free? At least a WordPress.com site is.

Tumblr

It seems like this is the platform of choice among role players. That makes some sense, it’s extremely easy to use and great for sharing images, video and even music. As a writing platform, Tumblr is fairly basic. It will get the job done, no doubt about that, but it lacks the full-functionality and flexibility of a true blogging platform. Think of it as a social network disguised as a blog. I don’t like the fact that you can only follow others or favorite something as the first identity you created, even when you have multiple blogs. Still, if you’re into images and role-playing it probably is a must have and, since it’s free too, I do, it’s called Pam’s Place

LiveJournal

There are many good things about LiveJournal. Most notably, this is, according to Scarlett where the real hard-core RP writers hang out. If that’s the case, I haven’t found them, though I have had some fun poking around over there from time to time. It’s a great platform for online journaling, the writing platform is user-friendly with enough features to feed my creative side. I haven’t played much with images over there, so I can’t really say whether I like it or not. In general, not my favorite space, so I gave my name away to @BadPam. She/We pop in occasionally, just to see what’s up.

Twitlonger

If you don’t really want to blog but still manage to need some extra space now and again, Twitlonger is a great solution. Unlike the “long post” feature in some Twitter clients, Twitlonger saves your updates outside your timeline, making it easier to go back and find things. It’s a fairly basic text editor, no images or other stuff to worry about, there are other services for that. Twitlonger does just what its name says, it let’s you tweet more than 140 characters. Sometimes, that’s all you need.

BlogPress

I have a bad habit of blogging from my phone, or rather my iPod. I’ve tried all the apps associated with all the blogging platforms I use, but in the end, I use BlogPress to write for them all. Yes, it’s tough to add tags and the autofill spellings can make me a little nuts during the day, but I can work on entries for WordPress, Tumblr, LiveJournal, Blogger, TypePad and more all from the same app rather than jumping around. Well worth the $2.99 if you’re a blogging dilettante like me!

There you have it, my advice for escaping the Twitter RP box and stretching your fingers, as it were, on something a bit longer or with more multimedia options. Don’t misunderstand me. You can RP on Twitter without blogging or blog without being on Twitter. However, if you’re going to do both…this is how I would do it. How about you?

  1. You’ve hit the ball out the park! Inecrdbile!

Leave a Reply

