The

Wii falling prices

In Games on 13 May, 2011 at 1:35 pm

Is the Wii joining the bargain bin? Maybe. Or maybe Nintendo is just trying to lure away some disgruntled gamers from Sony and is willing to lower their profit margin to do it.

Mario Kart Wii

Mario Kart Wii courtesy of Nintendo

Nintendo has announced that beginning Sunday, 15 May, they are dropping the suggested retail price of their popular Wii™ system to $149.99. The newly priced Wii system will come in either black or white with the Mario Kart™ Wii game and matching colored Wii Wheel™ accessory, allowing players to experience go-kart racing with Mario right out of the box.  The Wii Remote™ Plus controller and Nunchuk™ controller will also be included with the system at the new price.

Also on 15 May, Nintendo launches the new Nintendo® Selects collection of Wii games. The four games included in the collection are The Legend of Zelda™: Twilight Princess, Animal Crossing™: City Folk, Mario™ Super Sluggers and Wii Sports. Wii Sports will also be available for the first time as a separate software purchase.  The set of popular games has a suggested retail price of $19.99.

“From the day it launched, Wii has let players of all ages and experience levels have fun with one another,” said Nintendo of America President Reggie Fils-Aime. “The newly suggested retail pricing for both the hardware and select games will help create more of these magical moments for even greater numbers of people.”

  1. […] Oh, and yes, I bought a Wii because of the Tiger Woods Masters 2012 game and the New. Low. Price.  It’s my retirement gift to myself. […]

  2. When we first decided to buy a Wii, I didn’t realize that there is more to it than that. White or black? How many remotes? What is Wii Fit? Is it the balance board, the software, what?

    After reading a handful of reviews, I decided that this configuration was the way to go — and I still believe I was correct (not always the case). The black box fits nicely…

  3. Great site you’ve got here!. I’m truly impressed by all of the informative information you’ve provided us with. This is truly a great find for me as I was looking for something on this subject when I happen to stumble upon your site. I’ve already booked this place and I intend to E-mail the link to some of my friends as I know they will be just as impressed as I am. Keep up the great work! Cheers!

  4. Hey There. I found your weblog using msn. This is a really well written article. I will make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your helpful information. Thank you for the post. I will definitely return.

Leave a Reply

